UNI Student Leadership Awards

Congratulations to the 2020 Student Leadership Awards Recipients

Watch the 2020 awards ceremony here!

Lux Service Award

The Lux Service Award is the most prestigious award given to graduating senior students each academic year to acknowledge the culmination of their overall involvement. Recipients consistently go above and beyond, leaving a lasting legacy upon graduation.

Farhan Amjad

Mahlia Brown

Outstanding Student Leader Award

The Outstanding Student Leader Award is designed to recognize students who have demonstrated dedication and leadership through their involvement in one or more campus activities.

Adalberto Castrejon

Jacob Levang

Jameka Mosley

Megan Lenstra

Nicole Goodman

Sarah Ritondale

Servant Leader Award

The Servant Leader Award recognizes those who have worked for the common good while putting the needs of others first.

Allison Eagan

Chad Schafer

Elle Boeding

Hannah Luce

Hugh Zehr

Marlon Jackson

Montesha Carter

Diversity Matters Award

The Diversity Matters Award is presented in recognition of dedication and service to the University of Northern Iowa in advancement of its diversity-related goals.

Abigail Chagolla

Caleb Gehle

Hayle Calvin

Lindsay Kearns

Mahlia Brown

NeiAira Burt

Nick Johnson

Sashay Carroll

NISG Above and Beyond Awards

These awards are given by students to recognize faculty and staff for their commitment to student development and success. Two awards will be given out, one focusing on student learning and the other on student success. 

Student Success Award - Connie Hansen, Student Organizations Coordinator

Student Learning Award - Dr. Elizabeth Zwanziger, Associate Professor of Languages and Literature

UNI C.A.R.E. Award

CARE (Creating A Responsible Environment) Awards are intended for UNI students, faculty, staff, organizations or programs that have demonstrated outstanding commitment to and positive impact on a sustainable future.

Hugh Zehr

Mental Health Ally Award

Mental Health Ally Award recognizes an individual, program, organization or department that have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to mental health advocacy.

Sarah Rasing

Dr. Sue Follon Scholarship for Women in Leadership

This scholarship recognizes students for their leadership contributions during their tenure at UNI and potential to model leadership for women.

Ayah Al-Durazi

Boots to Books Scholarship Recipient

Boots to Books is a program designed to help veterans transition to civilian life and the college environment. Although many military and veteran students are eligible for G.I. benefits, more than half of them are still in need of financial assistance. In an effort to support the educational endeavors of our military and veteran students, the Boots to Books scholarship was created.

Austin Wood

Campus Compact's Newman Civic Fellowship

The Newman Civic Fellowship is awarded to an inspiring group of community-committed students who are already making an impact in communities where they live, learn, and serve. One University of Northern Iowa student is selected to represent the institution among the 290 community-committed students representing Campus Compact member colleges and universities.

Cole Passick

Student Organization of the Year

This award is designed to recognize a student organization that has exemplified excellence among its peers in the dedication and development of its members, and its contributions to the campus community and beyond.

Women in Business

Greek 360 Award

This award is intended to recognize a member of the UNI Fraternity & Sorority Life community who also is an outstanding member of other student organizations on campus and contributes to the community.

Grant Tiarks, Pi Kappa Alpha

Kristin Michel, Alpha Delta Pi

Diversity and Inclusion Award

This award is designed to recognizes the student organization which exemplifies inclusive excellence and a commitment to advancing diversity and inclusion at UNI.

Black Student Union

Most Promising New Student Organization

This award is designed to recognize a new student organization that has demonstrated significant motivation, creativity, innovation, and perseverance.

Fishing Club

Multicultural Theatrical Society

Student Organization Program of Distinction

This award is designed to recognize significant achievements by student organizations in the planning and presentation of programs.

World Hijab Day (presented by Muslim Students Association)

Young Women in Leadership Conference (presented by Women in Business)

Outstanding President in a Student Organization

This award recognizes a student organization president who has played a major role in the development and execution of their student organization.

​Muhammad Shamir Butt, Helping Hands International

Outstanding Officer in a Student Organization

This award recognizes a student organization officer who provides exemplary service, commitment, and strong leadership to their student organization and UNI.

Dylan Parker, Sigma Phi Epsilon

Most Promising New Leader in a Student Organization

This award is designed to recognize a member in a student organization that has demonstrated emerging leadership in the organization, a commitment to developing his/her leadership ability, and has exceeded the expectations of the membership of the organization. 

Emily Scott, National Student Speech Language Hearing Association

Student Organization Advisor of the Year

This award is designed to recognize a student organization advisor who has excelled and exemplified outstanding service, dedication, and leadership to the organization to distinguish itself.

Katie Hillyer, Women in Business

Panther Pantry Volunteer Awards

This award is presented to individuals, organizations or campus and community partners who go above and beyond in supporting the Panther Pantry.

Jenny Kohl

Sammey Bunch

Military and Veteran Student Services

Dr. Charlotte West Scholar-Athlete West Award

The Missouri Valley Conference will present the Dr. Charlotte West Award annually, to one female and one male student-athlete who have completed intercollegiate eligibility in their primary sport, to recognize outstanding achievement in academics, athletics, services and leadership. Nominees from UNI are recognized at the Student Leadership Awards. 

C.J. May, Men's Track and Field

Katie Taylor, Women's Swimming and Diving

Drake Martin Gold Star Award

This award is given to student leaders for outstanding contributions to on-campus living at UNI. This is the highest residential leadership award at UNI and has been presented annually since 1989.

Eric Ramos

Meghan Zug

Nicole Goodman

Sarah Rasing

Shannon Jones

Tabitha Zarazinski