UNI Student Leadership Awards

Congratulations to the 2019 Student Leadership Awards Recipients


CARE (Creating A Responsible Environment) Awards are intended for UNI students, faculty, staff, organizations or programs that have demonstrated outstanding commitment to and positive impact on a sustainable future.

Lily Conrad

Dr. Sue Follon Scholarship for Women in Leadership

This scholarship recognizes students for their leadership contributions during their tenure at UNI and potential to model leadership for women.

Shaylyn Trenkamp

Boots to Books Scholarship Recipient

Boots to Books is a program designed to help veterans transition to civilian life and the college environment. Although many military and veteran students are eligible for G.I. benefits, more than half of them are still in need of financial assistance. In an effort to support the educational endeavors of our military and veteran students, the Boots to Books scholarship was created.

Connor Grunwald

Drake Martin Gold Star Awards

This award is given to student leaders for outstanding contributions to on-campus living at UNI. This is the highest residential leadership award at UNI and has been presented annually since 1989.

Kate O'Dell

Cameron Amos

Dr. Charlotte West Scholar-Athlete West Award

The Missouri Valley Conference will present the Dr. Charlotte West Award annually, to one female and one male student-athlete who have completed intercollegiate eligibility in their primary sport, to recognize outstanding achievement in academics, athletics, services and leadership. Nominees from UNI are recognized at the Student Leadership Awards.

Crystal Florman, Women's Swimming and Diving

Isaac Holtz, Men's Track and Field

NISG Above and Beyond Awards

These awards are given by students to recognize faculty and staff for their commitment to student development and success. Two awards will be given out, one focusing on student learning and the other on student success. 

Student Success Award - Allyson Rafanello

Student Learning Award - Ronnie Chen

Most Promising New Leader in a Student Organization

This award is designed to recognize a member in a student organization that has demonstrated emerging leadership in the organization, a commitment to developing his/her leadership ability, and has exceeded the expectations of the membership of the organization.

Joel Gan, International Student Promoters

Student Organization Advisor of the Year

This award is designed to recognize a student organization advisor who has excelled and exemplified outstanding service, dedication, and leadership to the organization to distinguish itself.

Ashley Adams, Campus Activities Board, Service & Leadership Council, and Panther Pantry

Student Organization Program of Distinction

This award is designed to recognize significant achievements by student organizations in the planning and presentation of programs.

"A Rabbi, A Pastor, and An Imam: Stronger Together" (presented by Muslim Students Association)

I Love Female Orgasm (presented by Campus Activities Board)

International Student Preview Day (presented by International Student Promoters)

Greek 360 Award

This award is intended to recognize a member of the UNI Fraternity & Sorority Life community who also is an outstanding member of other student organizations on campus and contributes to the community.

Meghan Joens, Alpha Delta Pi

Caleb Gipple, Sigma Phi Epsilon

Most Promising New Student Organization

his award is designed to recognize a new student organization that has demonstrated significant motivation, creativity, innovation, and perseverance.

Readers Today Leaders Tomorrow

Student Organization of the Year

This award is designed to recognize a student organization that has exemplified excellence among its peers in the dedication and development of its members, and its contributions to the campus community and beyond.

Muslim Students Association

Diversity Matters Award

The Diversity Matters Award is presented in recognition of dedication and service to the Univesrity of Northern Iowa in advancement of its diversity-related goals.

Nadir Khan

Scott Schwartz

Yakira Sanders

Servant Leader Award

The Servant Leader Award recognizes those who have worked for the common good while putting the needs of others first.

Adalberto Castrejon

Allison Noggle

Anna Patch

Bryce Davis

Caitlyn Walte

Caleb Gipple

Emily Meier

Morgan Brus

Muhammed Butt

Trevor Fletcher

Outstanding Student Leader

The Outstanding Student Leader Award is designed to recognize students who have demonstrated dedication and leadership through their involvement in one or more campus activities.

Akanksha Sahni

Ben Vaske

Gorpu David

Lydia Richards

Siraj Acharya

Taryn Kroymann

Tristan Bernhard

Lux Service Award

The Lux Service Award is the most prestigious award given to graduating senior students each academic year to acknowledge the culmination of their overall involvement. Recipients consistently go above and beyond, leaving a lasting legacy upon graduation.

Clare Flattery

Dominique Jefferson

Yakira Sanders