UNI Student Leadership Awards

Congratulations to the 2017 Student Leadership Awards Recipients


CARE (Creating A Responsible Environment) Awards are intended for UNI students, faculty, staff, organizations or programs that have demonstrated outstanding commitment to and positive impact on a sustainable future.

Ren Kohnke

Leslie Fink

Dr. Sue Follon Scholarship for Women in Leadership

This scholarship recognizes students for their leadership contributions during their tenure at UNI and potential to model leadership for women.

Lulua Rawwas

Drake Martin Gold Star Awards

This award is given to student leaders for outstanding contributions to on-campus living at UNI. This is the highest residential leadership award at UNI and has been presented annually since 1989.

Kinsey Dooer

Brooke Howsare

Jesse Heath

Morgan Dobroski

Claire Nichols

Student Employee of the Year

Whether it is welcoming new students during orientation or making cookies in the bakery—we simply could not provide all the great services at UNI without the nearly 4,000 student employees. Every year supervisors are asked to nominate their exemplary students for Student Employee of the Year. The finalists are selected based on the impact of their contribution, their initiative, professionalism and quality of work.

Casey Hoekstra

Dr. Charlotte West Scholar-Athlete West Award

The Missouri Valley Conference will present the Dr. Charlotte West Award annually, to one female and one male student-athlete who have completed intercollegiate eligibility in their primary sport, to recognize outstanding achievement in academics, athletics, services and leadership. Nominees from UNI are recognized at the Student Leadership Awards.

Angie Davison, Women's Basketball

NISG Above and Beyond Awards

These awards are given by students to recognize faculty and staff for their commitment to student development and success. Two awards will be given out, one focusing on student learning and the other on student success.

Student Success Award - Andrea Greve
Student Learning Award - Brittany R. Flokstra

Most Promising New Leader in a Student Organization

This award is designed to recognize a member in a student organization that has demonstrated emerging leadership in the organization, a commitment to developing his/her leadership ability, and has exceeded the expectations of the membership of the organization.

Jacob Levang, Sigma Phi Epsilon & Interfraternity Council

Student Organization Advisor of the Year

This award is designed to recognize a student organization advisor who has excelled and exemplified outstanding service, dedication, and leadership to the organization to distinguish itself.

Jenny Connolly, Student Admissions Ambassadors

Student Organization Program of Distinction

This award is designed to recognize significant achievements by student organizations in the planning and presentation of programs.

Make A Difference Day: Domestic Violence Awareness (presented by Service and Leadership Council)

Pay It Forward Tour (presented by Students Today Leaders Forever)

Sexual Assault Awareness Week (presented by Sigma Phi Epsilon)

Greek 360 Award

This award is intended to recognize a member of the UNI Fraternity & Sorority Life community who also is an outstanding member of other student organizations on campus and contributes to the community.

Jared Riter, Sigma Phi Epsilon

Most Promising New Student Organization

This award is designed to recognize a new student organization that has demonstrated significant motivation, creativity, innovation, and perseverance.

United Dance Company

Student Organization of the Year

This award is designed to recognize a student organization that has exemplified excellence among its peers in the dedication and development of its members, and its contributions to the campus community and beyond.

International Student Promoters

Diversity Matters Award

The Diversity Matters Award is presented in recognition of dedication and service to the University of Northern Iowa in advancement of its diversity-related goals.

Juana Hollingsworth

Emily Hummel

Servant Leader Award

The Servant Leader Award recognizes those who have worked for the common good while putting the needs of others first.

Maddie Grimm

Chris Kennedy

Claire Nichols

Melanie Majeed

Hunter Flesch

Sarah Rudy

Angie Davison

Zubair Naeem

Brooke Howsare

Outstanding Student Leader

The Outstanding Student Leader Award is designed to recognize students who have demonstrated dedication and leadership through their involvement in one or more campus activities.

Madison Gavin

Aaron Friel

Brianne Baylor

Jill Georgen

Mallory Feeney

Diksha Ojha

Matthew Klein

Lux Service Award

The Lux Service Award is the most prestigious award given to graduating senior students each academic year to acknowledge the culmination of their overall involvement. Recipients consistently go above and beyond, leaving a lasting legacy upon graduation.

Megan Kennedy

Kadesha Zimmerman

Micha Zeimetz